European Parliamentary Elections


European Parliamentary Elections are held every 5 years. The Arun District is part of the South East Region. MEPs are elected under a proportional representation system (d.Hondt).  In the UK you have one vote to elect all of your MEPs. Each party puts forward a list of candidates called a 'regional list' and you vote for one of these lists or for an independent candidate. The parties are then allocated a number of MEPs according to their share of the vote.

In order to vote in elections, you need to be registered.  


Forthcoming / Current Elections

The next European Parliamentary elections will take place on Thursday 23 May 2019 (if they are not cancelled in the UK). Further information will become available on the following dates:

Election Timetable [pdf] 169KB

Notice of Election.pdf [pdf] 78KB

Statement of Persons Nominated, Notice of Poll & Polling Stations - Thursday 25 April 2019 

Notice of Election Agents - Thursday 25 April 2019

Declaration of Result of Poll - Sunday 26 May 2019 


How do I find my polling station?

We now have an interactive tool to help residents find their polling station.  Please visit our Find my Polling Station page.


Results and Notices of Previous Elections

European Parliamentary Election 2014

2014 Declaration of Result Arun.pdf [pdf] 33KB

2014 Declaration of Result Whole of South East Region.pdf [pdf] 568KB


European Parliamentary Declaration Notice 2010

European Parliamentary 1 June 2010 further declaration.pdf [pdf] 145KB


European Parliamentary Election 2009

European Parliamentary 4 June 2009 Results.pdf [pdf] 17KB