UK Parliamentary Election results


ballot box Despite the changeable weather Arun residents turned out in force to vote in the UK Parliamentary Election on 8 June 2017.

The conservative candidate, Mr Nick Gibb MP, was successful in his campaign, securing 59% of the votes for the Bognor Regis and Littlehampton constituency. This is the 20th year that Mr Gibb has held this seat.

Arun also covers part of the Worthing West and Arundel and South Downs constituencies, with votes for these areas being counted in Worthing and Horsham, respectively.

Mr Peter Bottomley MP has retained his Conservative seat in Worthing West for the 20th consecutive year with 55.4% of votes and in Arundel and South Downs, Mr Nick Herbert MP was successfully re-elected as Conservative MP with a total of 62.4% of votes for the 12th year.

Nigel Lynn, Acting Returning Officer said “We are delighted with how smoothly this election has run. Both the polling stations and the overnight count went according to plan and the hard work and organisation that culminated on the day meant that we were able to deliver the high standards we expect. The turnout for the constituencies in the district was pleasing and it is great to see residents engaging with the process and using their vote.”