Contact Planning

Until further notice due to the Coronavirus we are unable to accept PAPER planning applications, comments on planning applications, compliance complaints or forms relating to the Community Infrastructure Levy (CIL) as all staff are now working from home. Planning applications must be made electronically via the planning portal . Comments on planning applications must be made on the online by searching for the application on the website and entering a comment , compliance complaints must be made on the online form and the submission of CIL forms (with the exception of CIL Form 1 which must be submitted with the planning application itself) must be sent to

There is currently no change to the Council’s scheme of delegation and some applications will still need to be determined at a Committee meeting. The Council has recently adopted new procedures in line with the Coronavirus Act 2020 to allow for Development Control Committees to be  held ‘virtually’. The Government sent a letter to local councils recently, which is attached here: Chief Planners Newsletter - March 2020.pdf [pdf] 135KB .

We will not issue any delegated officer decision to approve a major application or a minor application where there are a significant number of objections and the Parish/Town Council have not had the opportunity to comment because of the Covid 19 Pandemic until consultation has been carried out with the Chairman of the Development Control Committee and Portfolio Holder for Planning to confirm that they are in agreement that a decision can be issued.

The planning section can be contacted:

By Email          

By Telephone           General Enquiries 01903 737756

Planning Duty Officer Monday, Wednesday & Friday Mornings 9.00- 12.00 01903  737756


If you need to speak to the specific case officer dealing with an application they can be contacted on the numbers below. The department is split into 3 teams Eastern Area Team, Western Area Team and Strategic Developments. Please note that some of Arun District Council’s area falls under the South Downs National Park and you need to contact them about any planning issues in their area  by emailing them at



Eastern Area Team

Deals with applications (not Major ones) in the Parishes of Arundel, Angmering, Climping, East Preston, Ferring, Ford, Kingston, Littlehampton,Lyminster and Crossbush, Middleton, Poling, Rustington and Walberton


Job Title

Telephone Number

Email Address

Juan Baeza

Area Team Leader 2

01903 737765

Andrew Wood

Senior Planning Officer

01903 737768

Anita Gardner

Principal Planning Officer

01903 737529

Zac Denton

Planning Officer 01903 737500 ext 37447

Lisa Coney

Senior Planning Officer (Compliance)

01903 737524

Tracey Headley-Smith

Senior Planning Officer (Compliance)

01903 737576



Western Area Team

Deals with applications (not Major ones) in the Parishes of Aldingbourne, Aldwick, Barnham,Bersted, Bognor Regis, Eastergate,Felpham, Pagham and Yapton


Job Title

Telephone Number


Daniel Vick

Area Team Leader 1

01903 737771

Simon Davis

Principal Planning Officer

01903 737874

Maria Tomalova

Senior Planning Officer

01903 737510

Finlay Garner

Planning Officer 01903 737915

Amber Willard

Planning Officer 01903 737500 Ext 37445

Christopher Best

Senior Planning Officer (Compliance)

01903 737644

Samantha Allen

Planning Compliance & Monitoring Investigator (S215) Covers all of the District)

01903 737761



Strategic Development Team

Deals with  Major/strategic applications

Job Title

Telephone Number


Claire Potts

Strategic Development Team Leader

 01903 737698

Michael Eastham

Principal Planning Officer

01903 737772

Raymond Cole Principal Planning Officer 01903 737598


The Technical Support Team which deals with validating applications can be contacted on 01903 737711