Our management teams

Corporate Management Team

Our Corporate Management Team (CMT) is made up of three officers, each with their own area of responsibility (directorate). You can see the CMT structure here: CMT Structure Chart Oct 2021.pdf [pdf] 187KB and read their profiles below:

 

james Hassett

James Hassett – Interim Chief Executive

The Interim Chief Executive is responsible for our Corporate Support Directorate:

Policy: Corporate Policy, Corporate Performance, Communications, Electoral Services, National Partnerships, Local partner liaison, Design, Print and postal services

Corporate Support: Human Resources, Technology and Digital, Legal Services, Finance and Information Management

Council Advice & Monitoring: Standards, Monitoring role, Committee Services and Data Protection Officer

Contact:  chief.executive@arun.gov.uk

Phone: 01903 737600

 

 

philippa dart

Philippa Dart – Director of Services

Philippa is responsible for:

Community Wellbeing: Leisure, Foreshores, Wellbeing, Voluntary and Community Sector, Safeguarding, Lifeline and Community Safety

Residential Services:  Housing Strategy & Enabling, Registered Providers of Social Housing, Homelessness & Allocations, Housing & Housing Revenue Account (HRA), Revenues & Benefits

Neighbourhood Services: Car Parking, Parks, Cleansing, Cemeteries, Emergency Planning and Customer Services

Philippa joined Arun in 1998 having previously worked in the private sector. Her roles with us include Head of Greenspace, Engineering and Emergency Planning and Assistant Director of Environmental Services.

Contact: philippa.dart@arun.gov.uk
Phone: 01903 737811

 

 

karl roberts

Karl Roberts – Director of Place

Karl is responsible for:

Planning: Development Control; Local Plan & Policy, Strategic Development Team and Technical Administration Support

Technical Services: Property, Estates & Facilities, Local Land Charges (including Street Name & Numbering), Engineering Services, Building Control, Environmental Health, Private Sector Housing, Licensing

Economy: Economic Policy and Research; Tourism, Town Centre Management, Economic Partnerships and Business Development

Karl has worked with us since 2009, having previously worked in Cornwall. Before becoming Director of Place, Karl was Assistant Director of Planning and Economic Regeneration.

Contact  karl.roberts@arun.gov.uk

Phone: 01903 737760

 

Senior Management Team

Under the Corporate Management Team there are nine Group Heads who make up the Senior Management Team (SMT). A structure chart is available below:

SMT Structure Chart Oct 2021.pdf [pdf] 217KB

Our Group Heads:

Jackie Follis

Jackie Follis
Group Head of Policy

Phone 01903 737580

Email: jackie.follis@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 
 
 
 
Sameera Khan

Sameera Khan

Group Head of Law & Governance

Phone 01903 737610

Email: Sameera.khan@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 

Carolin Martlew Carolin Martlew

Interim Group Head of Corporate Support and Section 151 Officer

Phone 01903 737568

Email: carolin.martlew@arun.gov.uk

 

 

 

Neil Crowther

Neil Crowther
Group Head of Planning

Phone 01903 737839

Email: neil.crowther@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 
 
 
 

Nat Slade

Nat Slade
Group Head of Technical Services

Phone01903 737683

Email: nat.slade@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 
 
 
 

Denise Vine

Denise Vine
Group Head of Economy

Phone 01903 737846

Email: denise.vine@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 
 
 
 

Robin Wickham

Robin Wickham
Group Head of Community Wellbeing

Phone 01903 737835

Email: robin.wickham@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Joe Russell Wells

Joe Russell-Wells
Group Head of Neighbourhood Services

Phone 01903 737914

Email: joe.russell-wells@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Satnam Kaur

Satnam Kaur
Group Head of Residential Services

Phone 01903 737718

Email: satnam.kaur@arun.gov.uk