Our management teams

Corporate Management Team

The council has two joint interim chief executives who are also the two directors. We are welcoming a new chief executive later in 2024.  Our Corporate Management Team (CMT) consists of:

  • Philippa Dart - Interim Chief Executive and Director of Environment and Communities
  • Karl Roberts - Interim Chief Executive and Director of Growth
  • Antony Baden - Group Head of Finance and Section 151 Officer
  • Daniel Bainbridge - Group Head of Law and Governance and Monitoring Officer

  Our Senior Management Team structure is as shown in the graphic below (select to enlarge):

Senior Management Team (SMT) please see below for accessible description 

Seven group heads comprise the Senior Management Team (SMT) alongside the Interim Chief Executives, Karl Roberts and Philippa Dart

Philippa Dart, Interim Chief Executive and Director of Environment and Communities, and Karl Roberts, Interim Chief Executive and Director of Growth are at the top of the structure chart.

Making up the Environment and Communities Directorate are Antony Baden, Richard Tomkinson, Group Head of Housing, Wellbeing and Communities, and Joe Russell-Wells, Group Head of Environment and Climate Change.

Making up the Growth Directorate are Neil Crowther, Group Head of Planning, Nat Slade, Group Head of Technical Services, Jackie Follis, Group Head of Organisational Excellence and Daniel Bainbridge, Group Head of Law and Governance.

A chart showing the responsibilities of each group head[pdf] 97KB is shown here.

The contact details for our Senior Management Team is shown below:

Vacant position Chief Executive

Phone 01903 737600

Email chief.executive@arun.gov.uk

 

 

 

philippa dart

Philippa Dart
Interim Chief Executive and Director of Environment and Communities

Phone 01903 737811

Email philippa.dart@arun.gov.uk

 
 

karl roberts

Karl Roberts
Interim Chief Executive and Director of Growth

Phone 01903 737760

Email karl.roberts@arun.gov.uk

 
 

Jackie Follis

Jackie Follis
Group Head of Organisational Excellence

Phone 01903 737580

Email jackie.follis@arun.gov.uk

  
 
 

Daniel Bainbridge Daniel Bainbridge

Group Head of Law and Governance

Phone 01903 737607

Email daniel.bainbridge@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 

Tony Baden Antony Baden

Group Head of Finance and Section 151 Officer

Phone 01903 737558

Email antony.baden@arun.gov.uk

 

 

Neil Crowther

Neil Crowther
Group Head of Planning

Phone 01903 737839

Email neil.crowther@arun.gov.uk

  
 
 

Nat Slade

Nat Slade
Group Head of Technical Services

Phone 01903 737683

Email nat.slade@arun.gov.uk

 
 
 

Joe Russell Wells

Joe Russell-Wells
Group Head of Environment and Climate Change

Phone 01903 737914

Email joe.russell-wells@arun.gov.uk

  
 
 

Richard Tomkinson group head of housing

Richard Tomkinson
Group Head of Housing, Wellbeing & Communities

Phone 01903 737719

Email richard.tomkinson@arun.gov.uk