Sussex police and crime commissioner elections

The police and crime commissioner (PCC) is elected every 4 years. The first PCC for the Sussex area was elected in 2012.

The PCC’s responsibilities


  • appointing the Chief Constable and holding them to account
  • setting the police objectives and priorities in conjunction with the Chief Constable
  • setting the force budgets and the police precept for Council Tax
  • working with partners to fund community safety activities to tackle crime and disorder

For more detailed information about the role please visit the Sussex PCC website.

The electoral area

The Sussex electoral area is made up of 13 local authorities including:

  • Arun
  • Chichester
  • Adur
  • Worthing
  • Brighton & Hove
  • Lewes
  • Eastbourne
  • Hastings
  • Rother
  • Wealden
  • Mid-Sussex
  • Horsham
  • Crawley

Administration of the election

Our Local Returning Officer for the Arun district is responsible for organising the poll, absent vote processes and the counting of votes.

The coordination and announcement of the result of the Sussex PCC election is the responsibility of the Police Area Returning Officer (PARO). The appointment of the PARO is made by the Minister of State of the Cabinet Office and is decided for each PCC election.

Scheduled elections

The next police and crime commissioner election is to take place on 2 May 2024.

Previous Sussex PCC election results

Election and referendum results