Our management teams

Corporate Management Team

Our Corporate Management Team (CMT) is made up of three officers, each with their own area of responsibility (directorate). You can see the CMT structure here: CMT structure chart [pdf] 278KB and read their profiles below:


james Hassett

James Hassett – Chief Executive

The Chief Executive is responsible for our Organisational Excellence Directorate:

Organisational Excellence: Performance Management, Organisational Development, Organisational Intelligence, Human Resources, Communications, Marketing, Customer Insight, Technology and Digital, and Print and Postal services

Finance: Finance services, Revenues and Benefits, Customer Services

Law and Governance: Standards, Monitoring Officer role, Legal Services, Committee Services, Information Management and Data Protection Officer, Elections

Email  james.hassett@arun.gov.uk
Phone 01903 737600



philippa dart

Philippa Dart – Director of Environment and Communities

Philippa is responsible for:

Wellbeing and Communities:  Wellbeing, Community Safety, Lifeline, Safeguarding, Community Liaison, Parish and Town Council Liaison and Events

Housing:  Housing Options, Housing Revenue Account, Registered providers and social landlords, Homelessness, Neighbourhood Services, Business Improvement, Repairs and Maintenance and Assets and Development.

Environment and Climate Change: Carbon  Reduction, Climate Adaptation, Habitat Creation, Coastal Engineers, Flood Prevention, Foreshores, Parks & Cemeteries, Trees, Landscapes & Project Delivery, Emergency Planning and Cleansing.

Philippa joined Arun in 1998 having previously worked in the private sector. Her roles with us include Head of Greenspace, Engineering and Emergency Planning and Assistant Director of Environmental Services.

Email  philippa.dart@arun.gov.uk
Phone 01903 737811



karl roberts

Karl Roberts – Director of Growth

Karl is responsible for:

Planning: Development Control; Local Plan and Policy, Strategic Development Team and Technical Administration Support

Technical Services: Property, Estates & Facilities, Local Land Charges (including Street Name & Numbering), Building Control, Environmental Health, Private Sector Housing, Licensing, Parking Services

Business and Economy: Overall business support, Partnerships, High Streets, Business Relations, Business Intelligence, Tourism Sector Support

Karl has worked with us since 2009, having previously worked in Cornwall. Before becoming Director of Place, Karl was Assistant Director of Planning and Economic Regeneration.

Email  karl.roberts@arun.gov.uk
Phone 01903 737760


Senior Management Team

Under the Corporate Management Team there are nine Group Heads who make up the Senior Management Team (SMT). You can view the SMT structure chart here:  SMT structure chart [pdf] 407KB

Our Group Heads:

Jackie Follis

Jackie Follis
Group Head of Organisational Excellence

Phone 01903 737580

Email jackie.follis@arun.gov.uk


Daniel Bainbridge Daniel Bainbridge

Group Head of Law and Governance

Phone 01903 737607

Email daniel.bainbridge@arun.gov.uk


Carolin Martlew Carolin Martlew

Interim Group Head of Finance and Section 151 Officer

Phone 01903 737568

Email carolin.martlew@arun.gov.uk




Neil Crowther

Neil Crowther
Group Head of Planning

Phone 01903 737839

Email neil.crowther@arun.gov.uk


Nat Slade

Nat Slade
Group Head of Technical Services

Phone 01903 737683

Email nat.slade@arun.gov.uk


Denise Vine

Denise Vine
Group Head of Business and Economy

Phone 01903 737846

Email denise.vine@arun.gov.uk


Robin Wickham

Robin Wickham
Group Head of Wellbeing and Communities

Phone 01903 737835

Email robin.wickham@arun.gov.uk


Joe Russell Wells

Joe Russell-Wells
Group Head of Environment and Climate Change

Phone 01903 737914

Email joe.russell-wells@arun.gov.uk


Moh Hussein

Moh Hussein
Interim Group Head of Housing

Phone 01903 737718

Email moh.hussein@arun.gov.uk