Introduction and contents

This document has been compiled to inform landlords of the HMO standards within Arun and to assist with legislation compliance when operating a house in multiple occupation (HMO). The relevant local authorities will also refer to this document when deciding the suitability for occupation of an HMO.

It is expected that this guidance will be followed and should be assessed alongside the Housing Health and Safety Rating System Operating Guidance, the Management of Houses in Multiple Occupation (England) Regulations 2006, the Licensing and Management of Houses in Multiple Occupation and Other Houses (Miscellaneous Provisions) (England) Regulations 2006 (as amended), and any other associated legislation and orders.

Landlords are advised to check directly with the local authority as these standards may differ where additional or selective licensing schemes have been introduced.

The definition of what is considered a house in multiple occupation (HMO) is detailed in Sections 254-259 of the Housing Act 2004. In the most basic terms, this is a property where three or more unrelated people forming two or more households share at least one basic amenity (bathroom, WC or cooking facilities).

HMOs may be shared houses, bedsit-type shared houses or bedsits. Definitions of the different types of HMOs are included in these standards.


  1. Types of houses in multiple occupation
  2. Gas, carbon monoxide, electrical safety and Energy Performance Certificates
  3. Room sizes
  4. Shared kitchen facilities
  5. Kitchen facilities within bedsits
  6. Washing facilities and bathroom requirements
  7. Heating requirements
  8. Fire precautionary facilities and fire safety
  9. Cleaning and disposal of rubbish
  10. General requirements
  11. Appendix A – Acceptable heating
  12. Appendix A – Insulation guidance
  13. Appendix A – Ventilation guidance
  14. References